Guest Post–Want Some More S’more Bars?


Today is a guest post from none other than my daughter who is home for the summer from college. Enjoy!

IMG_1056

Hi everyone! For the past four months I haven’t been able to re-create any of my mom’s freshly baked desserts, due to the lack of kitchen appliances in my dorm. Upon arriving home, I was craving something sweet so I decided to make a  S’more bar complete with a graham cracker crust, warm melted chocolate and toasted fluffy marshmallows…YUM. S’mores are something that automatically takes me back to childhood summers so I couldn’t think of a better dessert to eat my first day of summer vacation.  I found a recipe online which seemed easy enough to try for my mid-afternoon dessert craving, however, I added chopped walnuts for a little added texture  and white chocolate chips in addition to the milk chocolate.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 pouch (1 lb 1.5 oz) Betty Crocker® sugar cookie mix

1 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 cup butter or margarine, melted

2 cups milk chocolate chips

1 cup white chocolate chips

1 bag of big marshmallows

1. Heat oven to 375°F. In large bowl, stir together cookie mix and crumbs. Stir in melted butter until soft dough forms. Press into ungreased 13×9-inch pan.

2. Bake 18 to 20 minutes or until set. Immediately sprinkle chocolate chips over crust. Let stand 3 to 5 minutes or until chocolate begins to melt. Spread chocolate evenly over crust.

3. Set oven control to broil. Sprinkle marshmallows over melted chocolate. Broil with top 4 to 5 inches from heat 20 to 30 seconds or until marshmallows are toasted. (Watch closely; marshmallows will brown quickly.) Cool 10 minutes. Serve warm. Store any remaining bars tightly covered.

IMG_1051

These bars were super easy, and equally sweet. The graham cracker crust was chewy, and contrasted well with the smooth chocolate and warm marshmallows. Perfect for a quick midafternoon pick-me-up 🙂

Leave a Reply

